Wanting to move to Rio for one year....what are the obstacles??

I have a 10 year visa, but I would like to expat for one calendar year to start and possibly make the determination to stay fulltime if Im really loving it. I tried searching for comprehensive threads on the subject, but I would like info on the following from all of you experienced expatters herein:
1. Whats the best avenue to use to find an apartnment? I have a few friends in Rio, but would like to search myself online as well. I have joined a couple Facebook groups that seem to advertise rentals and other services/items.
2. How easy or hard is it to rent and get utilities, etc?
3. What paperwork would I need to be able to be a long term resident alien?
4. If I want to work, (Im a Finance/Accounting/Audit Consultant), would it be a huge obstacle for large companies to hire me as a consultant? I keep a side hustle by doing the Accounting for some small biz clients here in US.

Any and all advice is appreciated. And I forot to state that Eu falar um pouco de protuguese. Still have a lot to learn though!!!

Unless you can get a firm in Brazil to hire you and get you a work visa none of the items on the lisat will be legally possible.

Jim

Thanks for the response. So moving there even if I dont need to work is out of the question "legally" as well?

dzackery wrote:

Thanks for the response. So moving there even if I dont need to work is out of the question "legally" as well?

You can only stay a maximum of 180 days in a rolling calendar year. 90 days is the starting point with a possible extension of 90 days. Understanding Portuguese is important as well as speaking it. Renting a place is a crazy ordeal and from what I have read on this forum it can get very chaotic and challenging.