American Psychologist Looking to Relocate (Primarily Florence)

Hello All!

I am new to the expat site and I saw an old post regarding the process it takes to transfer (?) one's Clinical Psychology license to Italy. I am wondering if there are any new updates from old responses.

My current understanding is that it would be best to complete licensure in the states first, then have transcripts from undergraduate and graduate schools sent to each respective state's Italian consulate as well as the Dichiarazione di Valore. From there, I must also have my transcripts officially translated and sent to the ministry (in Florence?). Once my transcripts have been approved by committee, I will be asked to sit for the Misura Compensativa (written or oral?) to prove I am worthy of licensure. Once everything is completed, I may then apply to the local (Florence) Ordine Psicologi to register as a practicing psychologist in Florence.

Is this an accurate understanding of the current process? What are some specifics people have done to prepare for this process? Where are applications found? How did people find employment in this field in Italy? Did anyone pursue a teaching opportunity (maybe with students from the states) first? Is anyone willing to help guide through this process? Is the Misura Compensativa like a jurisprudence exam? If so, how did people prepare for it? Did anyone consider taking further courses in Italy to further acquaint themselves with Italian culture/practice in psychology?

Ok, I think those are all of my questions! Thank you, in advance, to any and everyone who responds to this post! I am hoping to get started on this process as soon as possible!

Hi Sherly !

I've not direct experience in this regard, the only thing I can say is that I think you could ask these organisations directly:

1) The University of Florence. From their website it seems they handle the issue of recognising the title:
http://www.unifi.it/vp-10925-recognitio … itles.html