Recognition of foreign qualifications in Italy

Hello everyone,

Were your professional qualifications recognised in Italy? What country did you complete your qualifications in? What profession are you in?

Did you have to go through any formalities to get your qualifications recognised, such as to have them translated?

If your qualifications weren't recognised, were there any additional tests or exams you had to complete before you were able to practice your profession in Italy or continue with your studies?

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Priscilla

I have a degree in Hotel Management studied in Jersey Uk , Switzerland and London and my qualifications were 100% acknowledged -

It totally depends on 2 things:
1) whether your qualification is medical or non-medical,
2) If you are an EU or non-EU citizen.

Medical qualification + non-EU citizen = the most tragic and wretched condition a person can be/have. Way too complicated.

In any case, the one advice I would like to give about that, is to not step onto Italian lands without at least a B2 fluency in Italian (oh, yeah, sorry, I forgot to add the language barrier to the aforementioned miserable equation).

You should have no problems if you are interested in working in the private sector, but if you have hopes of working for any kind of public/civil service job (even the most insignificant one) - get ready for a ridiculous, frustrating, expensive journey in which you may even have to return to the university if they don't think your degree is 'recognizable'. That is, however subject to the individual university you apply to for recognition.

Good luck to one and all!

In the field of IT . YES!  Skills and work qualifications are recognized. Philippines

MaggieSteven wrote:

It totally depends on 2 things:
1) whether your qualification is medical or non-medical,
2) If you are an EU or non-EU citizen.