Recognition of foreign qualifications in Colombia

Hello everyone,

Were your professional qualifications recognised in Colombia? What country did you complete your qualifications in? What profession are you in?

Did you have to go through any formalities to get your qualifications recognised, such as to have them translated?

If your qualifications weren't recognised, were there any additional tests or exams you had to complete before you were able to practice your profession in Colombia or continue with your studies?

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Priscilla

hi priscilla,
i am a veterinarian (degree from India) with a MSc (from India) and a PhD (from USA) working as scientist in Colombia. I had to get all my degrees including bachelor's, apostillated in country of study then get them translated (including the apostillation) and then submit them to ministry of education, Colombia for convalidacion. the submission and payment for same can be done online. they say it will take not more thsn 4 months. while that was true for my bachelor's degree, i am still waiting for news on my phd and it has been 8 months. luckily, my employers agreed to go with the assumption that it will be approved. also you have to get translations from an official translator. you can find a list on the min of edu website. of course you will need some Spanish skills to be able to do all this. took me a month and more even with colombian friends helping! Also, if you have a thesis or dissertation based degree or diploma, you will need to get the abstract translated, too. here is the link to the min of edu website. you can read it in english by opting for it on the page. www.mineducacion.gov.co/1759/w3-article-355508.html

hope this helps. feel free to ask me for further clarifications and I will try my best to help.
good luck!

The main site for the Ministry of Education is:

http://www.mineducacion.gov.co/portal/