Moving soon to Ho Chi Minh City

Hello.  I am a retired teacher living in Florida but looking for a new adventure.  Vietnam has always been a land of mystery for me, and I am interested in living there to see how life moves in that country.  As a teacher, I have saved a reasonable amount of money, but would like to live where that money will stretch furthest.  I am curious about which sections of Ho Chi Minh City I should live in.  Are there rentals near beaches that are affordable?  Is it wiser to live closer to the city center?  These are just a few opening questions as I plan my move.  Any  help will be highly appreciated.

- The nearest beach to Saigon is Vung Tau, 60+ miles or an  hour drive once city traffic is behind you.

- Your location indicates that you're in Saratoga, so my answer is: If you like living in Tampa during spring break, you would love living closer to or in District 1, which is Saigon city center.

Thanks for the information.  It is helpful.

Retired myself and the only reason I,m in Saigon is because my stepdaughter has work here and my wife will not leave her otherwise I would be in Da Nang or Nha Trang.The pollution in Saigon in tremendous and getting about the roads is very difficult especially at rush hour not forgetting that safety while driving in the city also needs to be thought about
I see from your profile you like fishing....you cannot eat any fish you catch within the Saigon area...it's too polluted.There is nowhere to use a kayak...fall in water and you will need to find the nearest hosptital to get your stomach pumped!.I see you also like to explore,then surely a base mid mid Vietnam such as Nha Trang or Da Nang would serve you better that Saigon.
Vung Tau is the nearest beach area to Saigon,a minimum of 2 hours by car.The Saigon Vietnamese use it as weekend destination so it's gets crowded,the beach can be dirty and to my mind it's not somewhere you can travel to from Saigon just for the day