How much is enough?!

hi, again, everyone,

as indicated in my previous post, i am scheduled to travel to Malmo in the coming months.

i would like to know if a salary of roughly 25,000 SEK per month will suffice for a couple? i am in a position to negotiate, so would like to know if it is enough!

how much rent would one have to pay for a 2-room (one hall and one bed-room) decent apartment in a well connected locality? i am sure this will be the major expense for us.

would love to hear from Indians living in Malmo as well - are you guys there?!

thanks in advance!
ravi.

p.s.: i am an avid photographer, anybody else interested in photography? are there any good places to capture in Malmo?

26 views and 0 replies :(

Hello ravibilgi,

Have some patience ;)... I am sure that you will get some responses soon.

It depends what do you mean by "enough". Many Swedes make less, but in Sweden usually both members of a couple work, so if it is only you to make money, it might not be much, since most goods and services cost a lot in Sweden.

A one bedroom apartement in Malmo can cost from around 5000 SEK a month till 14 000  SEK if you want to live in the famous Turning Torso building (you can google it).

Malmo has a large immigrant community - some from neighboring countries like Danemark and Poland, but mostly from muslim parts of Balkans (south-eastern Europe - refuges from the 90s war there).

And remember Swedish taxes: a minimum of 30-32% of your salary will go straight to taxes (you won't even see this money) and it can go up to 50%.

Hello Minerva909,

Thanks for the reply! I will be the sole earner; my wife will not be working in Malmo.