An Australian trying to get an employment license

Hello,

I am from Australia! I am considering moving to Malta to work as an English teacher. It seems to be an incredibly complicated process... but I might be wrong.
I have learnt that it can take months to receive an employment license. To get an employment license, I already need to be employed... right? Although, to be employed as an English teacher, I need to already have a teaching permit, which I can only get in Malta as I will need to sit a test. This means I will have to move to Malta with no job, get the teaching permit, and wait around for two months with nothing to do, when I may not even get the license to work.

If I could apply from home and wait a few months, well that's fine. The problem is I need the teaching permit to get a job in the first place.

Is this a difficult situation, or have I gone over it so many times that I can't see a way around it? Can any TCN, who has worked as an English teacher in Malta, tell me about the process you went through?

Thank you very much!

Hi, I'm not a TCN, but I'm an English (EFL) teacher in Malta.

First things first: I wouldn't worry too much about the teaching permit, you can get that once you're here, and I know of several EFL teachers in Malta who got a job first, and got their permit later... (I know of some TCNs who only taught during the busy summer months and no-one ever asked about their permit (which they didn't have), but I wouldn't recommend doing that...)

However, applying for any job in Malta without actually being there is difficult - you do sometimes get the feeling that the internet, with e-mail and everything, hasn't quite arrived there ;)
I got my job by simply walking into the school and asking to speak to the DOS. Also, schools like to be able to plan ahead (understandibly), so they're less likely to give a job to somebody who might not even show up in the end...