Green Card

Anyone obtain a U.S. Green Card for a Brazilian spouse while in Brazil ?
I am a U.S. Citizen with permanent residency here in Brazil ( I have been a resident for 30 months). We were married in the U.S. Three years ago.
I would like to get a green card for my wife. Anyone been through the process ? Care to share your experience? Offer advice ?

We are currently in the process. It starts with I 130 from you. If you go to the site of Us Embassy you can find the required documents and procedures.

Jim

Petition for Alien Relative and Affidavit of Support while residing in Brasil.
Unless mistaken it is my understanding the form I-130 and supporting documents must be mailed to the Chicago lokbox.
What about the Affidavit of Support  ? Is it mailed with the I-130 or do I wait for it to be requested by the US Consulate in RJ ?

I don't remember for sure but the instructions tell you what is required. I know you do everything in steps. The instructions are pretty straight forward.
https://www.uscis.gov/sites/default/fil … 0instr.pdf

Jim

Not for certain, but don't you need to be a permanent resident of US for green card?

A green card (now pink) is identification of permanent residence in the United States. I am a US citizen by birth trying to move back to the US with my Brazilian wife. Therefore,the green card will be for her. We have been married over 5 years, she is eligible for a 10 year green card. After three years of residency 18 months of which must be continuous she may apply for citizenship, US passport, Social Security widow benefits, etc.
Then we can go live somewhere along the Rosarito/Ensenada coast for about the same cost as we do here in Cabo Frio while having accessibility  to day trips to San Diego and Los Angeles.
(Navy Hospital Balboa, grandkids, children, siblings, first world).