New members of the Puerto Rico forum, introduce yourselves here – June to December 2017

Hi all,

Newbie on the Puerto Rico forum? Don't know how to start?

This thread is for you ;)

We invite you to introduce yourself on this topic, to share with us your expat story if you are already living in the country, or to tell us more on your expat projects in Puerto Rico if you are planning to move there.

It will enable us to help you better but above all to wish you a warm welcome.

Welcome on board!

PD : The thread New members of the Puerto Rico forum, introduce yourselves here – 1st quarter of 2017 continues below!

Hello! I am new to expat.com and still figuring out the technical side of it... I had posted earlier, but think it went to the wrong page... (?)

I am a certified yoga instructor and bartender. Currently, I live in Asheville, NC and work at the Biltmore Winery. I also teach private yoga lessons.

My pup and I are considering moving to Vieques for the work season (October-March). Absolutely any advice as far as housing, employment, vehicle and overall logistics would be much appreciated! My goal is a lucrative, adventurous experience.

Thank you for starting this thread 🌻

Hi YogaFlow,
Welcome to the forum.
Have you worked in Vieques before?
Unemployment is very high in PR and higher in Vieques. Competition for jobs is insane.

What sort of Pup you talking about? All mixes of Pit bull are not allowed to be transported to the island.

Welcome to the forum!

As Rey mentioned, jobs are hard to come by, specially in Vieques or Culebra. I will really think hard and plan ahead before making the trip without a secure job offer. Are you bilingual? Do you have enough savings to carry you until you find a job? Plan B even C?

I don't want to be negative but been prepare will save you lots of headaches in the long run.