Cost of living in Riverside County

Hello Everybody,

I would like to have some informations about the cost of living in Riverside County?
Is it possible to live properly with 3300 dollars/month?

I'm a French engineer and my French company is looking for new employees in a really specific industry field. They are having a hard time finding people to fulfil all the competences, so they're thinking about sending me in the US during one year in order to train the new employees. After that year, I will be back in France.

I don't know at all the cost of living in the US and don't know if 3300 dollars is enough to live properly.
I'll have to find an apartment / buy all the equipment / buy or rent a car / pay insurance…
Also, I would like to save some money each month (about 300 dollars).

Do you think it would be preferable to rent or buy a car this period?

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Hi Lili-rose-france,

Welcome to the forum  :)

Here are some primary indications about cost of living in the USA as a whole : Cost of living in the USA - 2017. Numbeo could be a good tool as well : https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/in/Riverside

Feel free to ask the francophone members of the USA forum here, Forum Californie, they will surely be responsive.

All the best,
Bhavna

Yes, you can live comfortably in Riverside County for $3000/m ($3300 minus $300 saving). We lived in the same county for less than that for two people.

However, since you'll have to pay for security deposit, plus perhaps first and last month rent, and on top of that, buying furniture, the first couple of months will be tight.

Almost all apartments come with a refrigerator and absolutely all apartments are equipped with stove, so you'll only have to buy personal furniture. You could rent them (from furniture rental companies) for a couple of months while saving for something that would suit you better, but beware that furniture rental are rather generic in style.