House is sold...bags are packed...now where will be call our new home.

Hello from Canada!

My name is Michael and my wife is Sylvia.  I am an IT professional and she is a teacher.  we have just sold our house and are resigning tomorrow.  HURRAAYYY!!!

We have a 2 year old and a 4 year old,  both girls.  Also have a dog.  We are planning to spend a year in the DR and will not be working, just living with our girls on a little family adventure.  We are looking to find out where English Expat communities are in the DR as we don't speak any language but English.  We have read that Puerto Plata (Sousa /Cabarete) is one location.  Are there other locations?

Also, budget wise, where are the least expensive locations to live and still be able to see the beach / walk to the beach with 2 young kids.  We won't have a car.

Our budget is ~ $1000 USD per month on the top end.

We are not into the night life, but are very social and want to get to know both expats and locals. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Also, have any of you imported your pets and what should be be aware of when doing that?

Warmest regards,

Mike and Syl

Welcome.  Wow have your really thought this out?  Have you been here before?  That $1000 a month budget is that for housing or is that your total budget for the 4 of you?

Bob K

I will second that welcome.

And ask you the same questions! Have you even been here before? Housing. Cable. Internet. Food. Health insurance. Basic transportation. You want this all for $ 1,000????

That is a huge stretch!!! 

I am one person who lives pretty simple the only extra for.me is higher speed internet for.my work. Take that out and i spend about $750 a.month for ONE person.

Hi Bob.  Thank younfor the reply.  We have been planning this for a while 6+ months...you just get to see us at the finish line :)

We have been to DR twice before.  But mainly on the resorts and golf courses. 

$1000 is housing budget.