U.S. Citizens and Visas

Hi!  I am very interested in living in France, either short-term or long-term.  I am an experienced ESL teacher and am considering the following options:

1)  Looking for a teaching job in France

2)  Continuing to teach online to support myself while living in France

I have researched the Visa requirements, but have heard that it is nearly impossible for U.S. citizens to get Visas for France.  Is this true?  Any tips?

I would also like to take a French course, but don't completely understand the requirements regarding applying for a Student Visa.  Could one apply for a Student Visa if just taking a course through, for example, L'Alliance Française?

Thanks!

Just come and rent a flat for a couple of months and work on line from here. You can stay here for up to 3 months without a visa.  Then leave and come back in!

If you can get a company to hire you full time it would be easy to get a work visa.  It's super easy to come and just stay here.  But, to work a regular job you can get a work visa .  Also, go to the French Embassy site and look at the descriptions for visas. 

I traveled here I. france last year coming and going every 3 months....no problem!
Good luck !

Hey

I can't help you in relation to your U.S questions as I am Irish but I am an ESL teacher living in France. I've just got a job teaching online. If you wana teach ESl and don't speak French my biggest piece of advice is go to a big city. It will be very difficult otherwise, and yes definitely learn French other than going to Paris you won't survive without it.

Best of luck
Shelly