Expats in banska bystrica.

Hello all  :)
my name is Matthew Mifsud and I am currently living in banska  bystrica with my slovak  wife.  I have been living there for the last 2 years and I've haven't  met any other foreigners living there yet. I've just joined the group today hoping I'll find expats in this city. Also,  if anyone knows of any classes that can be done part time in the area to learn slovak  as I am really struggling with the language.

Hope to make contact with all :)

Kind regards.

Hi Matthew,

I am a South African born Aussie married to a Slovak living in Banska bystrica. I moved here in Dec 2007 and returned to Perth in 2012. I have now come back to be with my family and return at the end of April.

I was an ESL teacher here for 4 years and can introduce you to other expats in the town as well as advise you where and how to learn Slovak.

where are you from? and which part of the town do you Live in?

Michel.

Hello :)

Thanks for getting in touch. I am living in podlaviće so really not far from banska  city centre. I work in the UK  so always trying to balance my home and work time. I was asking around for lessons and one person wanted to charge me 25e  an hour which has put  me off seeking help in the past lol.

Ps.  I've got family living down under :) . Must have been a big culture shock when moving from one place to another.

Hi again Matt,

You can try Contact Ján Gréner at iC Centre Jazyková škola (www.ic-centre.sk)  as he provides Slovak for foreigners Courses and work in conjuction with the Local university so as to provide international student state recognised language certification in accordance with EU education recognition framework.

His Contact details are as follows:

Ján Gréner
+421 911 403 004
[email protected]
Lazovná 11, Banská Bystrica.

I also recommend purchasing a books titled:

Slovak for you/Slovenčina pre vás.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/538 … ak_for_You

and:

Slovenčina ako cudzí Jazyk