How to bring your car to Mongolia

Hello everybody,

If you exported your car to Mongolia, were there any formalities that needed to be completed beforehand? What were they?

What is the best way to export your car? Is there a limit on the number of vehicles, or perhaps the age of the vehicle? Are there limits on emissions or emission controls in Mongolia?

What are the expected costs of exporting a car? In your opinion, is it worth it?

Once you arrived in Mongolia, what were the applicable taxes? What was the customs process like?

How do you go about registering an imported car in Mongolia?

Is it best to buy a car once you have arrived or to bring your car with you, in your opinion?

We look forward to hearing from you!

Bhavna

Greetings Bhavna!

Firstly, wonderful to make your acquaintance. I am not an expert on this, however will weigh in. I am an American Engineer and contracted through Rio Tinto, an international mining corporate. I signed a contract which will place me in UB between 1-½ - 2 years, depending on progress. I am in a unique situation, and maintain an apartment in the State Department Store area which in my opinion is in the best location of the city, for a westerner such as myself. Rio Tinto, being a large player in UB, contracts through HELP CAB taxi service to shuttle all of its professional staff about (which I am one). I admit I have become somewhat spoiled. I simply call ahead, they pick me up (gratis) and shuttle me anywhere I wish to go. We are given a pass code prior to pick up, and must submit a company ID before being ferried off.

I too was looking at the possibility of purchasing or having one of my personal vehicles shipped, however, it was greatly discouraged by the Embassy and those whom I spoke to. The UB traffic is some of the worst I have seen, only surpassed by the quality of drivers 😉