Retiring in Thailand, visa info

My wife and I are interested in retiring in Thailand,  I am 63 and I understand that as long as I have a minimum amount of money in a Thai bank I can get a retirement visa.  My wife is 47. What type of visa will she require?  Can she be considered a dependant?

Thanks Dave

Hi Dave, you will get a lot of information, some will be totally wrong, and will cost you a lot of money and hassles in life. But, some will be accurate. Usually you get the most advise from individuals who want to make money off of you. My husband and I just went through all of this with getting our visas. I will write back with some more details for you. I have told everyone of the experiences we have had , that we would help out anyone for free. Why because you need a friend when doing all of this, not someone looking to make a buck off of you. So please stay tuned for some of my comments later in the next 2 hours.

I'm no visa expert.  I've lived here with a yearly retirement extension for 8 years now.  I have an English couple, husband and wife, and she gets a visa from her husband's 'retirement visa.  They call it a piggy back visa.  Obviously, that's not the correct term.  Maybe worth looking into.   They found out about this at the immigration office.  As previously mentioned, you will find a lot of agents that will sort a visa out for you for a fee.  But it's not difficult to do yourself.  Good luck.  If you want more info regarding my friends piggy back visa, let me know and I'll get the details for you.

Sorry went for a run this morning.  If we had to do it all over again, we would have applied while still in the states.  But , we did not know that we were going to be coming here until we got to Vietnam.  It is pretty straight forward, when going on line and looking at everything that is required to get a retirement visa . You will be able to down load the forms .