New to jakarta

Hi All,

I'm new to jakarta and only been here for 1 week I was wondering if anyone can let me know some fun things to do here other then shopping (not a fan of shopping). If you know of any cool little laid back bars where it's easy to meet people would be an awesome start. I'm starting to learn bahasa but I'm only a week so anywhere that's easy to find.

Thanks so much in advance for any suggestions

Sara

You can hang out in the bars in Kemang namely the Irish bar or Eastern promise or de hois in pondock indah or float up to Jacksa for a rough night.

However a little roof top bar in Senen called six degrees is worth it. Run by some locals and expats. It's a good place to visit.

But it depends where in the city you are.

Things to do or see

Zoo, Taman mini, old town, menteng, Monas. Ancol

Hidden gems are to find but try Batavia marina at Sunda Kelapa, the restaurants in the top of mall semanngi and if it still exists the speed boat cafe in Pluit.

Hi thanks for the reply sounds great will definitely check them out. I'm in south jakarta but not after to venture out thanks so much again for your help

I'd like to welcome you to the forum and Jakarta but I can't help you with the bars stuff because I don't drink.
I know South Jakarta is full of bars but you should be aware the pop is going to cost you a mint.
Jalan Jaksa I have seen once and won't be going back.

Old town (kota Tua) is worth a visit and you'll get a real confidence boost as all the local schoolkids interview you for their English projects.
You'll end up thinking they've mistaken you for the latest teen star.

Taman mini (TMII) is a mini Indonesia with house designs from all over the area but take sandwiches.

Monas is interesting but get there very early because the queues are crazy.

After that, try to take a few days out of town, maybe Jogjakarta or fly down to Lombok.

Hi sarah,

I just moved to Jakarta as well. Ive been here since 16th of March.