Which type of application for residence permit?

Hi everyone,

I'm in Malta studying on a 2 year course at the university but I intend to stay after my course and I have just bought a flat here.

I need to apply for the residence permit and know I can apply for it on the basis of being a student but I would like to know if I can also apply under the Self-sufficiency category as I support myself by renting out my spare room.

I've tried to do lots of research online but it doesn't seem clear if I can do it on this basis too (it's looks as though I could but I don't know if they would only accept if I was in employment)

Will I get the resident permit for just the number of years I am studying here? If yes, this is why I'm thinking it might be better to apply as Self-sufficient if it would mean I would get a resident permit for more years-maybe I am wrong

Any advice would be much appreciated!

as you appear to be British, the answer is in the long term, no-one knows what the answers are.

for now, getting self sufficient is easy enough - the point of it is that it's for people who dont work.  You just prove your income and fill a few forms and done done, indefinite residence permit - at least while you're European.

Thank you for your reply volcane. Yes I am British and yes who knows what my status will be in the future!

That's good to know self sufficiency is for those who don't work. I did not know that I could get permanent residency though; I though it was after 5 years that I can get permanent residency....

I guess my question is also how long each residence permit is for (u till obviously I can apply for permanent residency). I assume if I apply as a student it will be granted for only as long as I am a student but I'm not sure of the number of years for self sufficiency