American Teacher Needs Help From Reunion Island "Natives"

I AM NOT FROM NOR WILL I LIKELY EVER BE FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO VISIT REUNION ISLAND.

I don't want to mislead anyone with my purpose of joining your Forum.

I am a middle school teacher in the United States who recently tasked my students with learning about "far off lands", using the internet. 

Complaints arose -- as they will among pre-teens and teens -- that I was asking too much of them; and before I knew it, I had volunteered to take ANY country or locale they chose, to prove it could be done, that the information is out there, and all one has to do is look for it.

One of my students saw Reunion on the wall map -- and here I am, doing my homework.

What -- or who, actually -- I am looking for is someone familiar with the pre-human history of Reunion Island, as well as the changes that the introduction of humans led to.  THIS IS A MIDDLE SCHOOL ASSIGNMENT, not a PhD thesis; I only need very basic information, such as -- and particularly -- native flora and fauna, introduced flora and fauna, recent (as in the past 500 years) geologic events, pictures of the island's natural scenic sights (not the human side of things), and more.

If you have the time to help me with this, I would be grateful -- and if lucky, I might get a satisfactory grade at the end of the school year, when the assignment is due.  Yes, that's correct, the students get to grade me!

Thank You for reading,
Bing
(no, not the search engine, the cherry; really!)

Welcome on board Bing :)

Nice sense of humour for Bing... I have redirected your discussion to the Reunion Island forum for effective networking. I hope you will receive lot of information concerning your queries soon.

Regards