Planning to move permanently to Puerto Vallarta

Greetings: I'm a journalist, photojournalist and former East Africa bush guide. I am planning to move from Seattle, WA USA, to Puerto Vallarta, primarily because of my attraction to Mexican culture and history, and secondarily, my desire to live in a warmer climate on the Pacific Ocean.

Although I have visited PV, studied Latin American culture in Mexico City, and spent a lot of time in Los Cabos, I am unfamiliar with expat life in PV. My concerns are mostly the cost of living a comfortable but not luxurious lifestyle, the opportunity to immerse myself in the culture (taking local arts courses, eg,), and volunteering wherever I can make a difference.

I would appreciate hearing from anyone now living in PV, or who has lived there in the recent past who can offer me advice about making the change, where to rent (what area), what to look for and what to avoid.

Please see my website: skyemoody.com for more information about me. I'm a longtime expat, but anxious to learn from others' experiences.  Many thanks!

Do you have your Resident Visa?

Hi, first here is the link for the lastest cost-of-living in PV. https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/i … obile=true

Also like "sparksmex" said what will be your status Visa wise.

And finally, a visit of the various areas around PV could be good before settleling in one area. In our case, my wife and I have travelled Mexico for 13 years and have now settled ourselfves in La Peñita de Jaltemba which is about 80km from Puerto Vallarta.

But even that can change if we can't stand the summer weather and move inlands  (ie: Patzcuaro, Michoacan).

Buena suerte, GyC.