Billed $15,481 for Nine Days Hospital Stay, What Are My Options?

Hi, my name is Marvin and I am new to the Expat.com Costa Rica forum. I hope to gain from the experience of the members of this forum. In full disclosure, I am also posting this same message on 2 other forums to get good actionable advice as my negotiation time with the hospital is limited.

I was wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience to the following: on Saturday, Jan 28th, I had to be taken to the local hospital in San Vito (southern Costa Rica) by Roja Cruz and spent 9 days there getting the swelling in my leg down (edema) by way of inflammation injections and saline solutions. Around day 5 or 6, I noticed that my total costs were averaging over USD $1500 each day and tried to get released then as I didn't have insurance, but the doctors advised against it until they finally agreed on the 9th day. Right now, I'm contesting and trying to negotiate downward the USD $15,481 I was ultimately billed, but have little experience as to what they will accept to settle things. Previously, I've had 2 other good experiences with low-cost care going to other public hospitals.

Please, no focus on my not having insurance or getting CAJA as this is the works. Any idea what happened here, and what the lowest amount this hospital would settle for? Thanks, Marvin

I remember reading that hospitalization while a 'tourist',  a non-member of CAJA, being admitted into a public hospital,  is either billed or must deposit $1000, prior to hospitalization,  plus services rendered, of course. 

If you had gone or transferred to a private facility, you would have be 'detained' until your bill was paid in full...and you would be required to have paid a significant amount 'in advance' before being admitted.

Awful expensive. A private doctor would've been cheaper.

Marvin,

Hire a lawyer.  You were charged "Gringo pricing."