Buying a property in Vietnam

Hello,

I am considering the idea of buying a house in VN. I am European, my wife is Vietnamese, we reside in France, but may consider moving to this part of the world.

I would like to know:

- can I own a property in VN? (please note: not just my wife, but also myself)

- are there limitations as to what/where to buy?

- any reputable law firms that would assist with the process?

- can I then resell, if I change my mind?

I know that this topic has been already covered some time ago, but the rules may have changed, and I haven't really found an answer to my basic questions.

Many thanks in advance to anyone who is able to shed some light on this matter.

Vietnamese government has not even determined all the rules, yet. Good luck to those that have bought without the rules in place. Here is a news report:

http://tuoitrenews.vn/business/39373/se … developers

I can shed some light on the process. I'm a lawyer in Vietnam, and have assisted foreign clients in buying property here. I'm a foreigner myself, and have personally purchased an apartment in VN.

can I own a property in VN? (please note: not just my wife, but also myself)

Yes - either by yourself or together with your wife. As a foreigner married to a Vietnamese, under law, you'll enjoy the same home ownership rights as enjoyed by Vietnamese citizens - e.g., not being subject to the usual 50 year ownership period applied to foreigners.

- are there limitations as to what/where to buy?

As foreigner, your property selection is limited to project-based housing. You generally can only purchase housing (villa, apartment, etc.) linked to a development project. Currently many around in VN - some developed, many still off-the-plan.

Generally, older existing houses would be a no go.

- any reputable law firms that would assist with the process?