Speaking Mandarin in Taiwan

Hi everyone,

It is widely agreed that speaking Mandarin is essential for a successful integration in Taiwan. Do you agree? Share your experience!

Do you speak Mandarin? If so, where did you learn this language? Where can one attend a language course in Taiwan?

If not, how do you cope with daily activities? Is it easy to communicate in a different language with Taiwanese?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

Well,I am starting classes in March so looking forward to.

Dear Priscilla

No.  I do not speak Mandarin, but I suggest for other ex-patriots to know Mandarin before they come to Taiwan because the Taiwanese have a limited ability with English.

In my case, my roommate is bi-lingual so she acts as my translator all the time.

As for schools where you can learn Mandarin, there are several of them posted online. Check them out and choose one.

More people know English than let on. I studied for two years and only cracked the surface, but with teaching it allowed me to bond with the kids. TLI (Tapei Language Institute) has a great program and have offices in Taipei, Taichung and for all I know elsewhere. The people are great, unassuming, work hard and mind their business, something Americans can learn/relearn. Hoklo is the indigenous language, Hakka and many more. Stay a while, staycation and eat starfish, sea slugs and pigs ears!

After living in Taipei for 6 years, I find that most Taiwanese are terrified of speaking English to a native speaker.   And after working with elementary school students for 6 years, I also find that the way they're taught English by people that speak it as a second language is counter-productive and produces students unable to communicate in conversational English.  Taiwan has a way to go in catching up with the rest of the English-speaking world.

But then I haven't exactly nailed down Mandarin either.