Been offered a job: Is this salary package generous?

I'm a teacher/ middle leader with many years' experience. I'm from the UK.

I've been offered a job with the following package p/m:

1525 BHD
650 BHD housing allowance
Return flight annual
End of service gratuity

Will this be enough for a family of four? How much might we be able to save whist enjoying a decent standard of living?

Please let me know if you can...

Hi,

Kindly go through the below mentioned links which should give you an idea about the cost of living in Bahrain.

http://www.expat-blog.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=231960  : Definitive Guide to Bahrain for New Expats
http://www.expat-blog.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=337348 : cost of living
http://www.expat-blog.com/forum/viewtop … 1#p2522261 : cost of living area wise

good luck

T&R

No the salary is not generous to support a family of 4 unless there is anything else included in the package? Medical, schooling, car allowance, relocation budget for shipping your belongings?  You will need a car and rental for that will be around 150BD per month. I would budget around 1000BD minimum including water and electric for a part furnished villa on a reasonable compound with a pool so the children have somewhere to play. The cost of living has gone up here quite a bit recently, especially alcohol and utilities! Happy to answer any questions if you pm me.

I guess , its OK salary , not very good  but not bad too.

Someone I know pretty well banks about the same salary for a teaching position here. With a family of four, "enjoy" isn't the word you might use for the standard of living that would afford. Things would be tight and you could pretty much forget about any decent savings.