Studying in Greece

Hello everyone,

Would you recommend studying abroad in Greece?

Every year, 4 million young people from all over the world choose to study abroad for one semester or a full academic year. Would you encourage them to come and study in Greece?

In your opinion, what are the most prestigious colleges and universities in the country/area? Are these free of charge? If not, are tuition fees expensive? Are there many foreign students enrolled in these schools/colleges/universities? What is the main language of instruction at the university?

Thank you in advance for sharing!
Priscilla

Yes, studying in Greece is a good idea. I studied at the University of Indianapolis that was connected to the University of Indianapolis in the US.  Unfortunately the  Athens branch closed a few years ago.  These days one can study at New York college and Deree College,  both of which offer degrees in English. The standards are good, and as far as I know, credits are recognized by most universities abroad.  Campus life is nothing like it would be in the US or in the UK, but if you're just interested in a degree,  these are perfectly fine schools. Studying in Greece will also give you a great insight into Greek culture, since you will be studying with Greek students who have a very different approach to studying.

Hi,
I am also studying in Greece. I am studying in University of Crete. It is in around top lists of world ranking of university. Here the education is free. The computer science course is very professional, intensive, very good.

In my view the Kapodastrian University of Athens is on a par with la Sorbonne, Nice, Rouen, Bonn, Koln, Bruxelles, Oxford, Cambridge  London. Universite di la Roma, Milano, Torino etc. If one is fortunate enough to gain entry. There is a Polytechnic in Athens and a Business School which do not not have the same academic requirements.