Living in Fiji

You are living in Fiji, or you used to live in Fiji.

Share your experience!

How would you describe life in Fiji?

Has it been complicated to settle down, to find an accommodation and a job?

Is it complicated to make friends in Fiji?

What would you recommend to people who would like to live in Fiji?

Thanks in advance for your participation

Hello,
I am a french amateur of botanical sciences and very interested by the flora of Fiji, overall some plants which appear without interest, but which come from very high degre of evolution with ant.
I am looking fot contact with person living in Fiji, intersted by plant or anybody who can help me to find contact in Fiji...
Thank's a lot

Hi,

if you're looking for contacts in Fiji, the expat network Fiji can help ;)

The University of the South Pacific in Suva is probably your best hope of finding a plant expert.  I know there are a few here.  Sorry I don't have any names.

John (Rakiraki, Fiji)
PS:  We definately have ants! :-)

John,

This is Chris Elliott. My wife and 17 year old homeschooled daughter, would like to find a island home. We make our living off the net and have enough money to meet the residency requirements.

I have a few questions: The current government any causes for concerns? Do the locals like Americans, or are they tired of Americans? Is it safe for a 17 year old girl?

Thanks much.

Chris Elliott

[email protected]

Hi Chris,

My name is Barb and I have been there two times. Really love it there. Last Christmas, our whole family went. It was the kids first time. 17 (boy) and 15 (girl), I had had some photos that I had brought also in hopes that I could get them to some of the islanders I had met while I had been backpacking there back in the college days (80's) Anyway, to make a long story short and to get back to your question; it seems like most Fiji natives really like Americans/foreigners as it helps the economy.