The bank refused to cash my certified cheque

Hi there,

I'm a saudi student who has just arrived in India this week. I issued a certified cheque from my country so that I can cash it here in Bangalore but now the indian bank refused to cash it unless I open an account in their bank.

Is it legal for a bank to refuse to cash a certified cheque if I don't have an account with them?

If it's illegal then what should I do? To whom should I complain? The saudi monetary authority or the indian reserve bank?

Just open an account.
You can always choose to cash the cheque and leave the account dormant.
No loss and saves a lot of messing around.

Actually the procedures here are complicated and it will take a month at least to have the money in my hand.

Try other banks, but I can't see why they don't want to cash an unknown cheque.

Normally money laundering and Identity issue is big worries these days all over the world. And I bet opening bank account is far more easier in India if we compare with other countries of the world.

I need some cash as soon as possible because I have to pay fees within few days. I can't wait for a month. Additionally, from my own experience, cashing a certified cheque is instant and only requires a passport. That's applied in almost all countries. A certified cheque is the safest alternative for carrying cash from a country to another.

shb27 wrote:

. A certified cheque is the safest alternative for carrying cash from a country to another.

http://money.stackexchange.com/question … -the-other

5 CERTIFIED CHEQUES