Close

Wanting to teach in Thailand

Hi all! I'm new on here, and I am looking into teaching in Thailand or Asia. I just wanted some advice. I am going to an international job fair in San Francisco in February through a company. Unfortunately Thailand will not be there. I am a certified teacher in my third year of teaching.

Is it better just to come to Thailand and find work as a teacher? I could come in summer and I don't mind spending the time and money as long as it would be beneficial. Does this work?

Thank you in advance!

Hi jenkinsc,

there are plenty of english teaching jobs in Thailand and through out asia, more pay for university graduates.

one example:

https://www.teachaway.com/teach-thailand

English Teaching Benefits in Thailand
Monthly Salary    15,000-30,000THB (approximately $550-$1200)
Working Hours    35-40 hours/week, 5 days a week
Accommodation    $150-$200/month (at teacher's expense); teachers receive assistance in arranging accommodation
Vacation    Varies from school to school Thai holidays + unpaid vacation

I don't know everything or all of the refinements. Then again I am aware of many details, because I too was looking at teaching in Chiang Mai.

The fact that you will be getting a BA degree will be a step up for you. Schools accept people without a BA, when necessary which is often. There are schools that hire from the states. You would have to research that on your own. There are schools that may be located in Chiang Mai or have multiple locations almost everywhere in the world. (For your own sake, please get your BA before some one lures you off to who knows where.) It is advisable to get an international English Teaching certificate. It could be called TEFL. There are school's here in Chiang Mai where you can get that certificate but you have to pay for everything, down to the last pencil in your box. As I read it you have a year to look into the subject, Take your time and enjoy the exploration.