Hello... I am a Canadian who is moving to Santiago in Marh 2011

Hello,

My name is Rob and I am an IT Consultant from Vancouver, British Columbia (Canada) and I am moving to Santiago for at least 3 months in early March 2011.
It would be great to meet some other English speaking expats in Santiago while I am there... Canadian, American, British, Australian, New Zealand etc. etc. :)

I am going to rent a flat in downtown Santiago for 3 months and see if I could live there full-time (*I can work from anywhere using my laptop so I thought I'd try and take advantage of that and finally do this).

My only concern is if the Internet and cell phone networks are reliable in Santiago... any comments experience on that would be greatly appreciated. Also wondering if there are a lot of wi-fi hotspots and Internet cafes etc. in Santiago.

Thanks in advance and looking forward to hopefully meeting a few of you when I get there :)

Cheers
Rob

Hello Rob....

I'm chilean, currently living in Italy and moving back home at the end of february. I think i'm able to communicate in English so if you want I would love to meet you and introduce you to other people there.
Regarding your questions, well... there is a huge offer of internet points in Santiago, they are called 'centro de llamados o ciber cafes'and you might find them neraly everywhere.
Internet and cell phone network is also widely available... the only problems is that (as far as i remember) providers might require you to sign a 1 year contract.
That's all for now...
Ciao

@Rob,

Congratulations! "Good choice!" as would say the regular salesman. Currently I'm finishing working for an Australian company with offices through North and South America, and one think I sadly noticed is that my counterparts from "developed" countries still think we are running in underwear and playing with arches and arrows (literal translation, not sure it works in english as well).