Information on UAE and working there. Considering a big move!!

Hi!

My husband and I are considering moving to the UAE this summer. He is in Banking and I am an ICU Nurse. We are both well educated, he has a MSc and I will have completed the first year of my MSc when we move. There seems to be a reasonable amount of jobs to choose from at the moment for us both but I was wondering which is a nicer place to live, Abu Dhabi or Dubai? My sister has lived in Dubai for a number of years now, so I have visited Dubai a few times and have a fair idea of what it is all about. Is Abu Dhabi the same? If not what are the main differences?

I am also wondering about Nursing in Dubai/Abu Dhabi. How may hours in the working week over there? I currently work 13 hour shifts so am well used to long days and/or nights. I assume you get your set monthly wage no matter how many unsocial hours you do. Am I correct? If we get acommadation through my husband's job will I still get an accommadation allowance? Is this something I'll need to negotiate? Also what other benefits should I attempt to bargain for?

I hope someone can shed some light on these issues for me.
Thanks a million :D

Hi IrishICUNurse, welcome on Expat-blog! :)

I hope other members will be able to help you.

I wish you good luck
Christine