Moving to Malta in March

Hi All,

We are thinking of moving to Malta in a few months, we are 3 in the family, me, wife n our son (7 months in March)

I have seen plenty of flats for rent and it seems to be very good deals....350 - 500 euro for a 3 bedroom flat, I have seen cheaper as well...is it me looking at it wrong or is that the normal rent?

How difficult is it to find a job? we have enough money to survive a year without working but I want to work as soon as possible to meet people and have a social life...

Im a PADI Instructor and have worked for over a decade in the trade, I also work with graphic design and photography. Is the drug culture as liberal as in Spain? Not into the heavy stuff but enjoy a smoke now and then instead of alcohol...

Hoping for answer....

Pat

Welcome to the forum.

"I have seen plenty of flats for rent and it seems to be very good deals....350 - 500 euro for a 3 bedroom flat, I have seen cheaper as well...is it me looking at it wrong or is that the normal rent?"

I assume you're looking at websites. They are often out of date - so potentially unreliable from that point of view. It's really a personal decision - we are in a modern 3 bedroom apartment in Naxxar for €700 a month - we looked at places that were less but couldn't find anything we liked better, often too small for the 4 of us. Other people have different requirments and tastes. You certainly can get a 3 bedroom apartment for 350-500 but it's down to your personal requirements. Location and amenties and, of course, neighbours barking dogs all play into the equation!

Tim

Thx for your answer Tim,
We only need a 2 bedroom flat, but you are right some of the dates on the flats I have seen goes back to September last year. We aint any party people so Telly and Internet is a must. Is it easy to get Internet to a rented flat? also what is the Telly channels like?
What areas is best regarding having a 7 month old?
Thx again for taking your time mate!
Patrick