Polish-German couple is saying hallo :-)

Hi, I am a new member so I want to say HALLO.
I am often visitor in Germany since 2014 in Stuttgart area and finally I will settle here in 2017 when me and my man will get married. So I will lost all my friends living in my present place of living and I will build social environment from the start, looking for a proper job and learning German.
I graduated of fine art academy, painting departament. I am a painter and the photographer, also art teacher. However this kind of occupation can be both easy to do in a foreigh country because a person works on his/her own but also it can be and is very difficult if I have no idea how and where to sell things, how to advertise myself, do I need to have own business and how to pay taxes. So maybe I will need to work in a different kind of job.
If you have any advices or want to make friendship I would be gratefull. :-)
Greetings
Marta

If you don't work then you should be covered by your husband's health insurance. If you don't make over  400 Euros/month then it remains so. If you make more then you will have to start paying for your own health insurance. Thus for many just making 500 or 600 Euros/month is hardly worth it.

As an artist, if you work, you will almost certainly be considered self-employed and have to join the Künstlersozialkasse. This takes around 18% of your yearly income and matches your contribution and you get health coverage, disability and some retirement.

I doubt there are many art galleries in Tamm but certainly in bigger towns like Ludwigsburg and Stuttgart. Otherwise, one can try to get know potential customers through personal contacts. Some people will also sell on some open markets like Christmas markets. The fees for such things are often high so one must know that they have lots of commercially wanted pieces.