Moving to NZ with Resident Visa - Need Inputs

Hi All,

I am a Telecom professional with 11.5 years of experience and working in a leading mobile company as a Tech.Manager[2G/3G/4G], holding PMP and CSM certifications.
I am planning to move to NZ in Jan'17 along with my wife and 4 year old kid and already having NZ Resident Visa.
I am planning to come to NZ after leaving my current Job as it seems bit hard to get a Job while you are not physically available in NZ. But bit worried about Job hunt and how much time it will take. Also, I was there in Auckland for 2 weeks and was unable to get a call in Telecom/ Wireless domain at that time.

I am very well settled in Delhi but better quality of life/ work-life balance is main factor which is pushing me to settle in NZ.
And, also I think it will take at least 1-2 years before I will start enjoying same quality of life in terms of own house, car, secure Job… which I am having here right now.
Will really appreciate any inputs regarding Job Hunt, living and if it will be a wise decision to move permanently.
Also, I would like to have inputs on which city to move in initially. Auckland seems to be an obvious option but what about other cities - Wellington, Hamilton, Christchurch..

Thanks.

Hi All,

Any inputs?

Harsh - I moved to NZ on a resident visa in 2012. I moved with my wife and 2 kids. Yes it could be a little challenging to get your first job, but it all depends on your approach to job market. The nice thing is I'm able to learn quite a few things after getting out of the comfort zone from my previous job in India.
Now, here are my 2cents: 1. Always be Preparing, 2. Improve your network locally and more importantly, try to get in touch with people who have more contacts locally and can help.

I could be one of the second category of people with few contacts to my credit. You can get in touch with me and I'm happy to guide. I have some contacts in Telecom sector.