Quito Vs. Cuenca

So, señora peripatetic_soul mentioned in another thread that she is deciding between Quito and Cuenca and will visit both cities and will decide which is best. That inspired this new thread, or Quito vs Cuenca.

Tells us why you would choose one over the other. Or simply boast about your city like I will.

PROS

I am a resident of Quito and will make a case for and against Quito. Initially I didn't like Quito at all, and this was even true after taking the hop on and hop off bus that commenced at Carolina Park and took us south through the historical area and then El Panecillo and back. I didn't like how the areas looked. I also didn't like that it was all Spanish. It was an eye opener when I was ill with altitude sickness and the emergency room doctor needed a translator to communicate with me, hey I thought all intelligent people especially doctors should be able to speak the universal language of English.

Time passed and realized we were in a great neighborhood or sector La Carolina, it offered everything, park, malls, supermarkets and even a Mercado. So this was my comfort zone for a while. Then after that I started to venture to other areas walking sometimes 8 miles round trip or more to check out other areas. And this is when I feel in love with Quito.

The walking around, the exchanges with strangers is wonderful. My Spanish is probably the equivalent of Spanish 102 at this point but I am not reserved in any way and talk to Ecuadoreans, and love how they react and reply to me.