Investigating moving to Hungary

I'm just beginning to look into moving to Hungary, I was born in Budapest but my parents left when I was 6 month old and have never been back, 60 some years. I'm interested in Szeged.

Wowie, even if you speak Hungarian, after 60 some years it is going to be a total shock to your system as a senor aged person!
My husband left HU at age 23 and visited HU at least 10 times before we moved here to retire.
He is now 68. He gets upset sometimes because he understands everything spoken in Hungarian but he doesn't understand a dam thing about the people or how they now think and act.
He is worst off then a newbie who knows nothing about HU.
Medical care is not as good as the west even with the national health, they put off expensive tests etc. sometimes that could lead to serious issues as a senor to not be on top of a issue with ones health.
Prices are cheap enough but then again you would have to adapt to living like a local, if you still want to live like a western person then it is going to cost the same or more then in the west.
Would be interesting to know where you have been for the past 60 years.
Have you ever even visited HU?
One thing I can honestly say, we have been here off and on for awhile and seriously  thinking of going back to the US before we get really elderly. Do not want to be at the mercy of any medial staff in HU.
Not going to get into it but it isn't exactly great to be in hospital and not have an advocate watching out for you.

tibor033 wrote:

I'm just beginning to look into moving to Hungary, I was born in Budapest but my parents left when I was 6 month old and have never been back, 60 some years. I'm interested in Szeged.

Were your parents Hungarian? (Seems like a silly question, but just considering possibilities like they were diplomats when you were born).