New in Jaeren

Hello all,

I'm a Canuck who moved to Jaeren after 13 years in Scotland to take up an academic position.  I've been here about four months now and am really learning to love the place.  Being in rural Jaeren, though, i am finding it hard to meet Kindred Spirits! 

I am a musician who plays guitar and ukelele (a new found love!) and all kinds of roots music, from country to bothy ballads.  I love cooking (and am always looking for tips for obtaining utlander mat!) which is great, given this is the land of dinner parties.  Would love to participate in pot-luck dinners, too.  I love getting out into the beautiful countryside around here, and taking the time to smell the roses (or whatever passes for them here)and am starting to get to know my way around Jaeren, from the hills of HoyJaeren to the beaches along the coast.

As a colonial i feel both soothing similarities (Big environment/small people) and jarring differences (a somewhat reserved culture, way more rules about things...) from my Cdn upbringing.  All in all, though, i must say that after Scotland (which i loved!) moving here was a bit like moving closer to home.   I have a blog in which i have been posting some reflections about life here -- www.rhysmhor.tumblr.com   and write an occasional series of Letters from Norway for the Scottish Rural Network -- http://www.ruralgateway.org.uk/en/node/2842   Am definitely learning to love this place.

As i've only been here four months, am keen to meet new folk, so if this peaks your interest, let me know and we could meet up for a jar, a mug or just a chat!

cheers
rhys

Welcome to Expat.com rhys, and Happy New Year !

Cheers Julien,
and God Nyttar to you too!   New life in a new place - can't ask for better than that.

rhys

Hey Rhys,

I too moved here from Scotland nearly 3 years ago and am living just outside Klepp.  It's a wonderful part of the country, so close to city live, but easy to escape to the hills for a day or weekend walking.