Life of a Filipino nurse in Singapore

Hello dear friends,

I'm a newbie here. I am planning to apply as a Staff Nurse in Singapore through an agency here in Manila, PH. However, I am considering a lot of things before I push through.

Anyone here who can be honest enough for PROS and CONS working as a Staff Nurse in Singapore?
E.g. -work environment, cost of living, salary(not tax free unlike in Middle East)

My number one priority is to save up.

Thanks in advance! :)

Below are in shortest way to describe your queries:

Cost of living : one of the costliest city in the world. You have to stay in a rented house (either a shared room or individual room in shared flat in order for you to save anything).

Work environment: Highly discipline and ethical work culture to adhere all the time, no racism or communalism (can't be tolerated and will face heavy penalty if you caught), one of the safest place in the world.

Salary: depends on your work experience and skills and nursing certificate (whether it's recognized by MoM). It's not tax free country but it is one of the lowest income tax zone. You can calculate how much you will pay tax based on salary offered to you (Tax slabs are available online). But, I believe you will not pay more than $1000 at maximum as tax per annum.

Last not the least who ever comes Singapore for job, most of them have same priority like you to save money and secondly getting international exposure (from a world class city - a top 4 financial hub in the world). Good luck.

One word of caution, since you mentioned going through an agent:
Many job placement agents are dishonest and most that charge a fee (which is actually not allowed in Singapore) aren't worth the money. Try applying directly at suitable employers in Singapore to avoid problems and maximise your chances - the limited number of hospitals in Singapore makes this easy.