New members of the Dominican Republic forum, introduce yourself here – 3rd quarter of 2016

Hi all,

Newbie on the Dominican Republic forum? Don't know how to start?

This thread is for you ;)

We invite you to introduce yourself on this topic, to share with us your expat story if you are already living in the country, or to tell us more on your expat projects in Dominican Republic if you are planning to move there.

It will enable us to help you better but above all to wish you a warm welcome.

Welcome on board!

PD : The thread New members of the Dominican Republic forum, introduce yourself here – 2nd quarter of 2016 continues below!

Hello,
My name is Brandon and my wife is Celeste. We are planning our escape from the United States to Las Terrenas. We have already fallen in love with what we have seen and read about the country. I am a disabled veteran of the US Army and I have a disability check that comes in each month. My wife and I were wondering if that counts towards the provisional residency? That is my stable monthly income so would fit the bill for that?
We are so excited about our future adventure. We are both California people with a bit of gypsy. Having been in the military I have moved all around the country and been all over the world. My wife has moved around as well and we are looking for our paradise to call home for the rest of our lives. we like the slower pace we have seen there, the beach is a must, and plenty to eat.
If someone would be able to help us out with more information it would be greatly appreciated. We are also trying to find out where the best place to look for rental villas would be. We have noticed that it isn't easy finding them online. Is there a website that has listings we can see?  We have seen that there is a lot of furnished homes there, is that typical for the homes to be fully furnished?
Thank you all,
Brandon and Celeste