Student pass rejected for my 4 years old son

Hi, I am a PhD student here, and my wife and son are here on LTVP based on my student pass.

My wife is in the process of finding and applying for jobs, while my son has been enrolled in Child Care Center for one year on "Student Pass (Letter of Consent)".

As my son's one year Long term pass is expiring, I preferred to apply for a separate Student Pass for him, to continue studying in the CCC.
However, today I found out that his student pass application is rejected!

What on earth can be the reason for rejection of a student pass application of a 4 years old child whose both parents are residents and he had been already enrolled in CCC for one year??!!

Looking at your case, sorry to say that did you check with the local authorities if your son can apply student pass if yes then what are the requirements.

Below link for you to get an idea:

https://www.ica.gov.sg/services_centre_ … pageid=256

What I see in your case is that there could be an eligibility issue (not sure though) of your son to apply student pass looking at his age as currently both your wife and son are here under LTVP and you are under student pass. But, did you request them to understand what could be the reason of rejection.

Hope they can clarify you if not in details. Wish you best of luck.

Your post indicates that your son until now attended the child care centre with an LTVP and LoC (Letter of Consent). Now you wanted to change that and applied for his own student pass.
Why did you do that and not continue on the old constellation?

Because my scholarship is coming to end, and I will continue the PhD as a project officer (an employee in the university and part time student, on SP/EP). Both of my wife and son'e passes will be canceled and I won't be able to support a dependent pass for my son because my salary won't be >= 5000.