How to work in the DR safely with volunteer programs.

Hello,
I've started this thread because A. My wife and I have 10 years experience working with groups of volunteers on the border. B. Because there are many Americans/foreigners  I witness throughout the country which are completely oblivious to the threats that face them in the colonial zone (market santo Domingo) for example. While not inherently dangerous compared to my home town Detroit, this like many other developing countries, is one of opportunistic crime. Mostly petty theft and non violent larceny. (Grab and runs). I have over 15 years experience in Law Enforcement in the detroit area. I currently am a sworn reserve police officer in a small village outside Detroit. I also am an executive protection agent/international investigator for Gold Bull security here in the DR.
  When prepping groups prior to on the ground deployment, assuming a pre-trip meeting takes place, is a great time to toss in some rules to follow in general. We cover with all of our groups (4-40 people) things like: