Is the Philippines a safe place?

What do you think?

why are you asking when you already said no where was safe?

Because I want to know what other people think. From the Department of Tourism postcard types who paint a rosy picture to the honest harsh reality types.

I think so, mind you I live on Mindanao and have for 5 years, I have never been afraid for my life or bodily harm happening to me. It is a relaxed kind of life here. I live in a medium-sized town.

I can say I have been coming to the Philippines for about 7 years. I have lived in Pateros,Cavite and Taguig,never felt unsafe, maybe because I am an ex police officer/soldier. I try to keep track of where I am and people around me. I do not look for trouble and attempt to avoid areas which may give rise to trouble. I am not flashy or flash lots of cash ,wear brand names. I am normally  in tee shirts and shorts most of the time except when going to the U.S. Embassy. I feel that anyplace on earth is safe,except known war zones and then you should know what can happen.
If you stay aware of the places you are visiting. I do not really go out late at night unless it is with some other active Filipino LEO's. I believe like any place, you create your own areas of safety,by being always focused on where and who is around you.

Good answer. Be aware and take necessary precautions.

i fully agree with your comments - to mind ones own business and stay out of confrontations is the way to behave - in 17 years of living in makati i have never felt any tension and not seen any trouble other than kids trying to be pickpockets - and i frequently walk home from a club late at night - for me the problem of living in makati, philippines, is not safety, its the traffic

Is The US or Europe safe? In Phil you just have to be careful and follow common sense and your instincts. Avoid carrying alot of money and wearing fancy jewelry