How does one move to San Miguel or Guanajuato?

I'm planning a trip to SMDA and Guanajuato in August for 2 weeks and don't know where to begin. I'm a retired librarian with a limited income and I want to see, first, if I can afford housing to rent long-term. Also, I have 3 cats who are dear to me and I want to bring them. I also want to know about how to arrange my banking (SS and pension self-deposits, and moving IRAs, savings).

In short, how can I spend two weeks in August finding out if I can live there? It'd be great to speak to or correspond with any ex-pats (especially seniors) who've done it. I've a limited time there and I want to find out essential details about living in the area. Please help.

Of your question, this is of what I can inform you. SS and other retirement income can be directed to a US bank account and then you can withdraw the necessary living funds from ATM's which are everywhere. Mostly at banks and supermarkets. You can make arrangement with Mexican banks later, if you wish after you are settled in.

I hope others will chime in regarding living arrangements. I do know that there are a number of reality agencies in SMA.

I spent a month last summer in Gto. Fell in love. Decided to send 4 months there this summer. Prebooked the same place imwas in last year. Long story short - it was much more difficult there this year. I am 60 and a wee bit out of shape, but i had no problems last year. This year was awful. I just bit the bullet and moved to SMA. Much flatter and seems to me to be much friendlier.
Hope this helps some.
Just use your debit card - tell them where you will be.

Did you go through a realtor to find your places? I would be wanting an unfurnished house or apartment. I want to permanently relocate and I have a one-bedroom household. Many books and shelves. I want to move my stuff. Any suggestions you can give would be greatly appreciated. I'm coming down for the last half of August.