Quest: Best way to learn Polish quickly - give your view!

Hi, Patrik/Peaco here!

I am just wanting to start a discussion of advice on how to learn polish.
There are a lot of people who already are very proficient in Polish on the forum - so you know ABOUT Polish.
Then there are people who don't know Polish as well, but know much more about HOW TO LEARN Polish.

I am of the second kind, but... I am a beginner.
I don't participate in any classes. I don't have money for that actually.
I am interested in everybodies advice, and I have a plan to write a book (long-time project but... well) trying to improve the 'biodiversity' of the already existing books.
I am currently digging in dictionaries and learning words, and little by little getting the hang of grammar.
I know some basic theory, but practice comes LATER for me.
I practice with people mostly, as well as writing a lot on my own.

Before I continue I would just like to see some interest on the subject. (I might well be the main 'poster' here but)..

So go ahead - shooot your ideas!!

Yours, Peaco!

Hi Paco,

I think that the best idea is to meet natives and try to talk Polish as often as you can. I did it in US and I have to tell you it helped a lot. I was meeting with my neighbors everyday and we talked about everything - from politics to dog's food. This way you will learn new vocabulary and you always can ask if your pronunciation is good etc.  I also attended some ESL classes which were not expensive. I know there are some courses for foreigners here in Warsaw, because my Italian friend attended them and made a lot of friends.

Thanks Katie!

I already know that though - but it is a very good thing!
Talk as much as you can, at EVERY opportunity.
Another tip from me is to meet NEW people, and get emotionally involved with them = be positive and friendly.
Why? Because emotion is motivation. And they have something that you don't - language skill!