Possibly moving to Vietnam but could really end up anywhere

hello everyone! I've been lurking the forums for a little while and had finally decided to sign up.

I am a half Filipino half European mixed American and my boyfriend is full Vietnamese with Vietnamese birth certificate but US citizenship. My boyfriend speaks Vietnamese fairly fluently but not at business level. I plan to take classes when I'm in Vietnam to help me to learn the language. I went to school at the California Culinary Academy in SF (we are both from SF bay area) for baking and patisserie. My boyfriend is an English major but wanting to go into marketing.

We will be visiting his family soon in Vietnam (he has family all over) and are highly considering on settling down there once we finish our travels. Our main considerations as of now are mainly Saigon and Da Nang.. leaning more towards Da Nang based off of what I've read but we shall see.

I am a baker with a dream of opening up my own ice cream shop that sells other goods. I have spoken with an expat that has a successful food business in Saigon so I have a basic idea on that in terms of commercial rent and food costs in Saigon (plus I've been doing a lot of research).

Wherever we choose to settle we are in interest of buying land and having a home built. We would pretty much want an equivalence of a suburban lifestyle in the sense of having fairly easy access to the city but living in a more quiet and clean neighborhood. I guess one of my biggest concerns with Vietnam is the pollution and what effects climate change will have on certain areas.

If anyone has tips or suggestions or anything I'm all ears :)

Hi and welcome to the forum.
Ice cream shop, Mmmmmm, lovely.

Someone mention ice cream??

Yep welcome to the form and good luck with your dreams and endeavours.