Moving to Kraków, opinions pleas :)

Hi Guys,

My name is Simon. I am an Italian expat living and working in London. I've been in the UK for about 11 years. My best friend is Polish and after a few trips to Poland I think I fell in love with the Country. We were thinking about moving to Krakow and start perhaps a new life there. I guess we are both slightly sick of London, though I still love it very much.

Guys I would really appreciate your opinions on the matter, I worked in customer service for a long time, I am a train manager for the underground here. But I had enough of it. I have a BA in Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies, and a MA in Interpreting and Translation.

Do you think I could possibly find anything in Krakow?

What about life there?

I don't know why for some odd reason I am super excited about the whole thing.

I look forward to hearing from you all.

Thank you very much for reading and listening.

Regards,
Simon

Hi Simon,

Kraków is a lovely town but I am afraid your skills will be useless without any knowledge of Polish language.
I feel your Polis best friend can advice you for the best. But be granted that he/she will be wanting to return home someday: with or without you. Bond with motherland is really strong in them.

Best of luck!
O!

Hi, thanks for the reply. Not what I was expecting but at the end of the day I was the one asking for opinions. May I ask you in what way my skills may be useless there? Did you move there with a previous knowledge of Polish then? What kind of skills would be best suitable in Poland in order to get a job then?

Trying to understand a bit better :)

Regards
Simon

Hi,
I moved without Polish language but I work in a international company and English is the official internal language; outside it's a complete different matter :(

Now I have a decent polish and I can even correctly say dziękuję  :D