Planning Engineer to be ..

Hello Everyone,

I am a civil engineer and I took a course to learn Primavera P.6.

My question is if someone wants to be a planning engineer is it better for him/her to work with contractor or consultant. In other words I want to know who makes the construction work/time schedule the contractor or the consultant?

Contractor makes the schedule, consultant reviews it..
if you want to learn as a starter, better to join a contractor.. and start with learning how to make a program, update a program, how to related authority related activities, etc.

Thank you Mr. Mujahid for your reply and advice 👍🏼👍🏼

I receive this question regularly, how I can start my career as planning engineer? I am just graduated and very few companies are seeking fresh graduated planning engineers. Should I wait until I found planning engineer job? Or I should join any other job like site engineer, technical office engineer?

My answer to this question is DO NOT WAIT. Yes, join the first job you offered, but if you want to end up working as a planning engineer, then do the following steps:

1- Do not wait: just waiting the perfect opportunity to work as a planning engineer in a reputable company is a wasting of your time. Join any construction company, this is where you will start learning.

2- Learn three things in your work; How, what before, and what after: regardless what is your position in any construction project (Site, technical office, QA/QC, quantity surveyor) if you know the following three information, you are in the right track of being a planning engineer.

How: learn how the activity you are responsible for is being executed. What are the steps, estimated duration to execute, and required manpower. This is applicable to shop drawings, activities on the site, and all other engineering work.