Moving to Sweden

Good morning everyone, my name is Sean and I'm from Washington in the UK, I've just joined Expat.

After years of saying and thinking that I'd like to move to Sweden I've finally decided to just go for it and hopefully have a new start in a beautiful country.  However, as this is a huge decision I'm trying to get advice on how to plan this move and also get information regarding jobs (English speaking until I learn Swedish), places to live and general need to knows about moving abroad.

I'd be very grateful if anybody could offer any advice and information regarding moving to Sweden.

Sean

I'd say a top priority should be learning Swedish, as that will help unlock the job market and facilitate your integration into Sweden.  Until you do that, you might very well find your opportunities to be limited unless you have extremely special qualifications.

Romaniac

Thanks Romaniac.

Unfortunately I've no special qualifications all I've got is the 14 years work experience since I left school.  My aim is to get into PostNord once I learn Swedish as I'm currently working within the postal service in the UK and would see them as a great company to work for given my experience in that industry.

Sean

Hey shawn

Well first of all, almost everybody speaks english, it might be a problem with your accent and the speed that you talk.

Second, there is not alot of work here, and tax is around 30% up to 375.000kr (30k£) i think it is, and from there it is around 50%.

Third, it IS a beautyfull country and i think that you should go for it.

Fourth, drinking is quite pricey here and here is not many bars, clubs and restaurants ;) There is also a shortage of sport facilities in my opinion.

Fifth, it is very cheap to live here, rent and food. Ofcourse it can be very expensive around stockholm and other snob and posh areas.