In retrospect, would you move again to Brazil?

Hi all,

If you had to look back on your expat experience in Brazil, would you heartily say "let's do it again"?

From the preparation stage to your actual everyday life in your new country, what did you enjoy the most?

Would you do certain things differently? Could you tell us why?

How would you describe the benefits of your expatriation in Brazil so far?

Thank you in advance for sharing your experience. We look forward to hearing from you!

Christine

Yes, I would retire to Brasil again.

*Preparation was key to my sentiment. Learning through personal experience via vacations provided me with a solid foundation.

I studied the language at home on my computer and practiced while visiting.

I suggest studying the history of any country you may be interested in. This is a good way to understand the people.

*To thine own self be true

Many times I have been told to change my way of doing things-of conducting business-expecting to get my monies worth and social behavior.

I did not take this advice. Instead I insisted on quality work up front, being on time, ready to do a good days work, provide their own transportation and tools and respectful conduct.

It surprised everyone that this worked and I complied a list of true artisans who wanted to work for me.

I grew up with a belief that respect is given till it is unearned and if earned it must be given. I am not open to disrespect of myself or my family and friends.

Brasilians are VERY casual and some may take advantage of your good manners in ways you may find offensive.

This attitude was at first deemed haughty but, now my family and friends bask in the glow of the respect others pay them in extension.

My point is you do not have to forget who you are to live here.

*No one plans to fail, They just fail to plan.