Stolen Passport

last year i had my bag stolen from a restaurant in Sihanoukville.I did the right thing and went and reported it and got a police report tried to send of for a new passport but uk passport office wanted a birth cert from me .now i did not have a birth cert handy as i have been travelling no0w for around twenty years.so i had to apply for a new copy of my birth cert.that took about a month to arrive.then i was able to send all the documents to the uk passport office.After several emails from the passport office claiming that this is not my passport and i need to make another application so i had to start all over again but finally got my passport back last month .Now been trying to correct things and get a visa and now i find that i have to pay a fine for not having a visa what the ---- it was not my fault it was stolen .But now they want nearly 2000$ from me and i will receive a fine per day until i pay this some of money to the police. Now i don't earn a great deal but to get 2000$ in one go is impossible .paying it monthly yes that would be possible.Any one have any ideas that might help me in the crazy situation.

Some things are not very clear and make answering difficult.
1. Looking at the fine of $2000 it indicates that you had no visa for nearly a year?
2. Your remark that UK passport office said it's not your passport indicates there was something irregular or wrong with your application?
3. Usually you can get an emergency travel document from the embassy, with that you could have extended your visa. I know it's too late now, just thinking.

If all was and is regular, with no hick-ups, you could ask your embassy to confirm that your passport was stolen then and then and that it took nearly a year to replace it. With that document you can try to convince immigration that you're not guilty of overstaying, but had no passport to put a visa in. Hope they accept it, it depends on do they believe the whole story. Good luck.