Tips and advice to thrive in the United Arab Emirates

Hi,

When living in a foreign country, you have to adapt to a new environment, various cultures and different social codes.

How did you manage to adjust to the United Arab Emirates?

How long does it take to feel at home? Would you say it is an easy process?

According to you, what is key for a successful integration process in the United Arab Emirates?

Thank you in advance for sharing your experience!

Priscilla

Hi

I am also relatively new to the UAE. I am still figuring things out myself. Hopefully some of the guys that have been here for some time can assist. It would be good to know.

I was born here and spent most part of my life here.  Although a different nationality, I never felt left out or a stranger here. I always felt at home and my personal experience with the nationals were very warm and friendly and they always found it easy to understand and speak my native language too Now a days people have changed and attitudes and population has increased so things are far different. All said and done Dubai is the best and has everything to offer each and every one no matter where they come from.

Hi I'm from South Africa. I lived and worked in UAE for 3 years and then I quit my job and returned back to South Africa.

UAE is not a healthy place to live. Despite having a well-paid job (which I don't have in my home country) - I don't regret leaving that place.
I became bored and depressed. Fellow colleagues became alcoholics and were promiscuous as there were very few affordable recreational activities outdoors except night-clubs and shopping malls. 
Honestly, I never really adjusted to living in the UAE. I found it impossible to integrate into any form of "culture" there. Most people are just there for work and to save money (not to make a home). People put on a mask to pretend that they are happy at work but the reality is often the opposite.