Teaching English in Hanoi

Hello!

I am looking to relocate from Bali to Hanoi next month in hopes of finding a job teaching English. I have a few a questions that I have yet to find answers to so I thought I would ask you guys!

I have a bachelors degree but no TEFLA. That being said I have 4 years of experience teaching ESL in New York and references to go with it. Will I need a TEFLA certification to find a job even with experience and a degree?

If I were to get said job teaching should I be applying for a business visa? Or just a tourist visa and then get a work permit?

Another random question, where in the Hanoi area would be your ideal place to live?

Thank you in advance for any and all information provided!

Hi, Nichole. As a local person living in Hanoi for 4 years, I just wanna share something about Vietnam in general and Hanoi in particular and I hope it can partly support for your job.

Acctually, degree in Vietnam is now not really important as before. But with some jobs relating to Authority's control like teaching, they still require degree as a certain formality.

However, for a foreign teacher, it is possible to teach somewhere without degree but not long. You know, when you stay in Vietnam and earn so much money, some people in Vietnam will feel jealous (I mean they feel uncomfortable when a person from other country coming here and take higher salary than them) and one day, they will tell it to the Authority and after that, certainly, you cannot continue your job. The best way is to find realiable schools and teaching center where they appreciate ability more than formility.

And for the last question of yours about good place to live in Hanoi, I highly recommend you somewhere around Hoan Kiem Lake (or Sword Lake). :).

And many other ideal places you can live, you can check some mentioned ones here:

hellovietnamtravel.com/news/vietnam-destinations/hanoi-56.html

Hi Nichole,